Monday, May 9, 2011

Mother's Day at the Crabhouse

 So, yesterday was Mother's Day, and of course I had to work. There are a couple of pain in the ass holidays, and Mother's Day is one of them. It's one of those days where you work way too hard for the amount of money you make. You run, run ,run, you're busy, busy, busy, and at the end of it all you say to yourself, "That's all I made??!!! That's it, I'm never working Mother's Day again." But you do, because it's one of those days that you have to work. Oh well.
  Mother's Day is one of those days where people who don't normally go out, go out. To put it bluntly, people who don't normally go out aren't so savvy on the tipping end. Which, if they are pleasant, is ok, ( I'd rather get a crappy tip from nice people than a great tip from complete asses ), but an entire day of 10% tips is rather disheartening, especially since you worked pretty hard all day. At least they were nice.
  Yesterday I was lucky enough to work Mother's Day at the crabhouse. I had been told that it was usually a crazy busy day, which surprised me, since Mother's Day is one of those dress-everyone-up-and-go-to-a-nice-restaurant kind of days. I wouldn't think that a place where you throw paper on the tables and sling crabs and pitchers of beer would be a big draw for Mother's Day. Apparently it is. Who knew?
  It wasn't business as usual. Most restaurants will have a special menu, or switch it up and do a buffet. We had a buffet AND an abbreviated menu AND crabs. Haha! We didn't take reservations, with a buffet and all you can eat crabs, you aren't getting your average hour and a half table time that you normally count on at normal restaurants. The all you eat crabs will keep people at a table all day; you add a buffet and forget about it. Especially around here. Since we didn't take reservations, people were showing up and having to wait, which happens, but these poor people were having to wait an exceptionally long time. Add the fact that we don't really have the space for people to wait, and most of these people are not small, and it gets a little claustrophobic. These poor people are trying to find a place to wait comfortably that is NOT in the way, and failing miserably.
   When they finally got a table, we had run out of crabs. Horror of horrors! It happens. We always tell people when they call and ask if we have crabs that it is always while quantities last. Always. Some people don't understand this, and ask what that means, or ask if we will have crabs on Wednesday of the following week. Crabs are the sort of thing where if you run out, you are OUT. As in completely gone. We can't create more crabs and have them ready in an hour. Don't get upset with me that we have run out of crabs at 6 p.m. on one of our busier days. Get upset with the large family that has been eating them all day. I didn't eat all of your precious crabs. If you want them that bad, go catch them yourself; we are pretty much surrounded by water.
 Except for running out of crabs, it was a pretty uneventful day. Some people were crazy busy, ( more on how we seat in another post; if you're a server, you'll know what I mean ), some people complained, and one guy completely wiped out when he tried to sit in a barstool. So, it was a pretty average Sunday. Except that we handed out roses to the mothers. Don't expect treatment like that for at least another year.  

No comments:

Post a Comment