So I couldn't sleep last night and of course I did the supremely idiotic, and decided to read the most recent "reviews" of our restaurant. Not smart; the baseness of some of these people made my blood boil. It goes hand in hand with my "everybody is an expert" notion. It is also a perfect example of that saying about opinions and assholes; everybody has one. It seemed for every two or three great "reviews" there would be one completely, asinine, awful one.
Just for fun, I started reading "reviews" for other restaurants in the area. Pretty much the same story. The thing that really makes me go bonkers is that the majority of these awful "reviews" are written by people who have no clue. One of the biggest complaints across the board, for every restaurant, was that we are all "overpriced". These people will also go on to say that being "overpriced" is the norm for the area. So answer me this: if you know the ENTIRE area is "overpriced", then why are you bitching about it? If you know it's expensive, then why are you even bothering to come to the area? Really??? That's like going to France, and bitching that everybody over there speaks French. I mean, these people will even bitch about paying for parking. Shut. Up.
I'm sure there are people who write legitimate reviews, whether they be good or bad. The problem is mucking through and determining which ones are legit, and which ones aren't. One review can sing the highest praises, the next claiming that it is the lowest of the low. One person claimed that "you can get a better steak at Sizzler, AND get two sides!" This says a lot about that person. A review for another restaurant said that the food was just "nasty". Really. This person is soooo eloquent that the best way to describe the food is, "nasty". No descriptives, no the sauce was runny, the fish was overcooked, the vegetables were limp, just, "nasty".
When people don't like things, they tend to blow everything out of proportion. For example:if they had to wait 10 minutes for a table; it becomes half an hour in their review. It's kind of like complainer math. Everything gets exponentially worse, just to make for an interesting review. Someone wrote that they had to wait 45 minutes before a server even acknowledged them. Ok. My question is this: why would you sit at a table for 45 frickin' minutes waiting for a server??? Oh, I know why, it's so you can bash the rest of your dining experience on Yelp, or Trip Advisor. These people said that everything was horrible, the food, the service, the manager had no clue what she was doing, and so on. This is the stuff that makes my blood boil. These people obviously don't eat out much or are habitual complainers. They weren't even talking about my restaurant and I was pissed. But because these jagoffs were hell-bent on having a horrible time, and hating everything, their precious little review is out there for the world to see. What's bad about this is that someone else who is just as moronic will take this particular review to heart. I mean, come on, you're going to listen to someone who sat at a table without a server for 45 minutes?? And admits it??
There are other factors to take into consideration as well. A scathing review could have been written by someone at a rival restaurant, or a bitter ex-employee. An over-the-top wonderful review could have been written by someone who works there. You just never know. Just take them with a grain of salt, and remember that not everyone has the same tastes. Instead of relying on the opinions of people you don't know, why don't you try a place out for yourself and form your own opinion. Hmmm, interesting concept. Just don't write anything stupid about it later.
Sunday, July 31, 2011
Tuesday, July 26, 2011
Yummus
Hummus
1 head garlic
1lb bag dried garbanzo beans
olive oil
Make the beans: Rinse and sort the garbanzos and then soak in cold water for at least 2 hours. Drain, then add about 3 cups of water, 1 large vegetable bouillion cube, and 2 peeled cloves of garlic. Simmer sloooowwwwly for about 2 hours, or until the beans are tender. Remove from heat when done.
While you are making the beans, roast the garlic. Cut the top off of a head of garlic, ( what can I say, I love garlic ), drizzle liberally with olive oil, wrap in foil, and pop in a 400 degree oven for about 35 minutes.
When all the good stuff is done, you put it all together. Depending on the consistency you prefer, you can use either a food processor, or a potato masher. I used a potato masher because I got tired of looking for the food processor. However you do it, start with the drained beans. Add the juice of half a lemon, and the roasted garlic. For Pete's sake, just squeeze out the yummy roasted garlic; do not throw the whole head in! As you process/mash add the simmering liquid a tiny bit at a time, until you get it to the right consistency. Add just a drizzle of olive oil and....voila! Hummus! I drizzle mine with olive oil just before I serve it.
Tsaziki
1 whole seedless cucumber, peeled and finely chopped
5 cloves garlic, finely chopped, ( pulverized )
16 oz plain Greek yogurt
juice of half a lemon
big bunch of dill, chopped
1 sprig mint, finely chopped
salt and pepper to taste
This is another one where you could process, but I like my tsaziki with a little texture. Mix it all together, cover tightly and refrigerate for at least a couple of hours. ( A couple of hours to refrigerate, a couple of hours to make the beans.....interesting....). The flavours definitely need to come together.
So, throw a little hummus a plate with a dollop of tsaziki, add a chunk of feta cheese and some olives and serve with pita bread. It doesn't get any better than this. At least today. Savourez!!!
Friday, July 22, 2011
The Heat
This hellacious heat is a business killer. You know at least one set of doofs will want to sit outside on a day like this. At least the flowers are pretty. Stay cool
Monday, July 18, 2011
On Rudeness II
Maybe I should call this post More Large Party Hell. This is how it went down.Saturday reservation for 12 people at eight o'clock. Ok. The woman who had made the reservation called earlier that day to confirm said reservation. Ok. They were celebrating a birthday. Ok. So we put the tables together to set up this 12 top. They call and say they are running about 1/2 an hour late. Ok, at least they are showing up.
9:15....they finally show up. The party of 12 has turned into a party of 8. No big deal. They sit down, they don't want water, they just want sodas and one Sex on the Beach. This is obviously not going to be the biggest 8 top I've waited on, but that's ok, my first round was great, so this is a win-win situation for me.
And then.....
After I had explained the menu, and gone back to see if anyone had any questions, on of the women says, "So I have to pay for my steak and THEN pay for a side?". "Yes, but they are big enough to share, so don't feel that everyone has to order their own side". She slams the menu shut and says, "This isn't going to work!"
Oh really. Are you fucking kidding me???? Who the hell makes a frickin' reservation at a restaurant without, I don't know, looking at the god damn menu first???? Seriously??? You tards have basically taken up an hour and a half of my time, not to mention four out of my five tables!! And then you are going to get snippy with ME because the menu is too expensive??? You. Are. High. You know that sweet little reservation YOU made on-line? We have to pay for that. So you owe the restaurant $8 and you owe me about $100. Just remember stupid-asses, Carmen is a bitch, but she learned it from me. So you go and have a nice day : )
Sunday, July 10, 2011
Server Nightmares
By server nightmares, I mean the actual bad dreams that one has at night. Bad, bad dreams about work. I'm sure other people in other jobs have nightmares, but server nightmares are special.The theme is always the same. You are incredibly weeded. In your dream your restaurant has morphed into some hideously large version of itself. Your section is gigantic; you have tables in the bar, tables at the back of the restaurant, and tables outside and down the street. Of course you are sat all at once, because we all know that hostesses suck, and of course everyone is needy. Everything that happens in real life is completely blown out of proportion in a server nightmare. People aren't just slightly rude, they scream at you. They want you to cut up their food and feed it to them. You can't get the wine open, the bar is taking FOREVER, and all of the food is WRONG! All this while you have a fifty table section that spans two blocks.
My first bartending job was at a restaurant that had a scale model of a skipjack as it's bar. In case you don't know what a skipjack is; it's a boat http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Skipjack_(boat) . The only way in or out of this bar was to jump up on one side and swing over. As you could imagine, this could be a tricky maneuver if the bar was full. At any rate, it was a Saturday night, the bar was full and the restaurant was busy. Of course I was a bit overwhelmed, but the night was just busy, not bad. There is a difference between busy and bad, you know.
Even though it wasn't a bad night, I still managed to go home and have an interesting dream about my evening at work. I was in the boat, of course the restaurant had grown to huge, server nightmare proportions, and of course everyone was particularly needy. Except in my dream the needy patrons were pirates and they were swinging from the sails trying to get at me. It was awful. I was surrounded by pirates who needed the strangest concoctions, and of course they wouldn't move so I could get out of the bar, (because they were pirates, and pirates are notoriously rude), and I was terribly, terribly weeded out of my gourd.
While this was my first server nightmare, it certainly wasn't my last. The absolute worst part about these bad work dreams is that you wake up stressed. This is not a cool feeling on your day off. But it's ok, after you've shaken off the cobwebs and realized that it was just an awful dream, and not how your night actually went, you can laugh about it. Sometimes : ) Faites de beaux reves mes amies!!!
Friday, July 8, 2011
Pirates in the Harbor
I can't believe it's taken me this long to post a picture of this pirate ship! Of course there aren't actual pirates; just kids zip lining around it. Same thing.
Monday, July 4, 2011
A Perfect Sammy
One of my favorites! Whole wheat pita with smoked salmon cream cheese, greens, thinly sliced tomato and onion, and Danish bleu cheese. It has to be Danish, it needs to be creamy. Yum!
Sunday, July 3, 2011
Happy Holiday Weekend!
While in the parking structure, please do not stroll aimlessly in the middle of the aisles while cars are trying to get through. Do not stand in the middle of said aisles, staring about, as if you don't know where you are. I'll help; you are in a frickin' parking structure. Do not let your children run rampant in the aisles, do I really need to be telling you this?? Just hold their hands! When trying to park, do not sit in your car hogging up space waiting for an opening on the first level; it won't happen, and if you absolutely can't handle a little movement, there are elevators. Don't speed! It's a parking structure, not the Beltway, and people let their kids run loose in there. When leaving, do not block the exit because you can't: a. Drive or b. Figure out how to work the thing to get out. Last night wasn't so bad, but tonight will probably be worse. Just remember that I am out there, and I just quit smoking. Enjoy your holiday
Friday, July 1, 2011
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)