Certain things annoy me while I'm working, some are basic manners, and some are just...me.
1. Phones
Put your phone away. Talking on the phone while at the dinner table is rude. Personally, from a server point of view, I think it's just annoying. I don't care if you feel the need to chat at the table, making the rest of your party wait. Go right ahead. I won't tell your table anything about anything until you hang up. Because I have manners, and I at least don't want to make it so you can't hear your conversation. Because it's probably important. And since your busy taking calls while at dinner, you must be important. And we are all soooo impressed.
2. Men Who Act Like They Were Raised in a Barn
This annoys the crap out of me. It starts with, "I want...", instead of "I would like..." and has no pleases or thank yous involved at all. When I take an order, I always ask the ladies first. And when some bonehead decides that he needs to order before anyone else, well, that's rude. Especially when I say, "ladies?...", and then HE speaks up. Way to pay attention. Which brings me to my next pet peeve...
3. People Who Don't Pay Attention
All I have to say is this; I don't repeat myself. And if I have to repeat myself because you can't or won't pay fricking attention, I will be sure to let you know that the information you are requesting is something that I have already gone over. While you were busy chatting with the person sitting next to you. Unlike phone offenders, people who just keep on chatting away while I'm trying to go over the menu for the rest of the table, deserve to be talked over. And I won't stop. You usually see this with larger parties. I truly believe that some of these people that are part of these larger groups never get out of the house. They just don't shut up. Women are the biggest offenders when it comes to this particular breach of etiquette.
4. People Who Are Rude When Sending Back Food
If something isn't right for you, I will fix it. There is a right way to send your food back. This way is not, "This is baaaaaaaad", said while making a face. I need a real reason, not just that you don't like it. Say the shrimp is tough, the steak is overdone, anything, not "EW". I don't tell you you're ugly.
This is just the tip of the iceberg, Valentine's Day is right around the corner, so there will definitely be more to come.